Minimum wage rates are increasing in many states this year.  Unless otherwise noted, the minimum wage rates in bold are updated rates effective January 1, 2019.  States with no change in minimum wage rates are not bolded. Each “Click Here” link also contains more information on the specific state’s minimum wage law.

  • Alabama: No state minimum wage.  Federal minimum wage applies.
  • Alaska: $9.89 – Click Here
  • Arizona: $11.00 – Click Here
  • Arkansas: $9.25 – Click Here
  • California: $12.00 (applicable to employers with 26 or more employees; for smaller employers, the rate is $11.00) – Click Here
  • Colorado: $11.10 – Click Here
  • Connecticut: $10.10 – Click Here
  • Delaware: $8.75 – Click Here
  • District of Columbia: $13.25 (will increase to $14.00 per hour effective July 1, 2019) – Click Here
  • Florida: $8.46 – Click Here
  • Georgia: $7.25; $5.15 if not covered by federal regulations (applicable to employers with 6 or more employees) – Click Here
  • Hawaii: $10.10 – Click Here
  • Idaho: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Illinois: $8.25 – Click Here
  • Indiana: $7.25 (will increase after June 30, 2019 from $7.25 an hour to $10.00 an hour) – Click Here
  • Iowa: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Kansas: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Kentucky: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Louisiana: No state minimum wage.  Federal minimum wage applies.
  • Maine: $11.00 (the minimum direct service wage for tipped employees is increasing from $5.00 per hour to $5.50 per hour) – Click Here
  • Maryland: $10.10 – Click Here
  • Massachusetts: $12.00 – Click Here
  • Michigan: $9.25, $10.00 Pending upon the State Treasurer to approve the new minimum wage rate (applicable to employers with 2 or more employees) – Click Here
  • Minnesota: Large employers (annual receipts of $500,000 or more) $9.86; Small employers (annual receipts less than $500,000) $8.04 – Click Here
  • Mississippi: No state minimum wage.  Federal minimum wage applies.
  • Missouri: $8.60 – Click Here
  • Montana: $8.50 – Click Here
  • Nebraska: $9.00 (applicable to employers with 4 or more employees) – Click Here
  • Nevada: $8.25 with no health benefits provided by employer, $7.25 with health insurance benefits provided by employer – Click Here
  • New Hampshire: $7.25 – Click Here
  • New Jersey: $8.85 – Click Here
  • New Mexico: $7.50 – Click Here
  • New York: $11.10 effective December 31, 2018 – Click Here
  • North Carolina: $7.25 – Click Here
  • North Dakota: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Ohio: Large employers (gross annual receipts of $305,000 or more) $8.55; Small employers (annual receipts less than $305,000) $7.25) – Click Here
  • Oklahoma: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Oregon: $10.75 (will increase to $11.25 effective July 1, 2019) – Click Here
  • Pennsylvania: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Rhode Island: $10.50 – Click Here
  • South Carolina: No state minimum wage.  Federal minimum wage applies.
  • South Dakota: $9.10 – Click Here
  • Tennessee: No state minimum wage.  Federal minimum wage applies.
  • Texas: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Utah: $7.25 – Click Here
  • Vermont: $10.78 – Click Here
  • Virginia: $7.25, Pending on legislation to be approved for an increase to $10.10 per hour – Click Here
  • Washington: $12.00 – Click Here
  • West Virginia: $8.75 – Click Here
  • Wisconsin: $7.25 – Click Here
Note: Other city, county and local wage requirements, which may be different from the state or federal minimum wage, may apply to your organization.